Clutter blindness…

As I stood in my kitchen-dining room-foyer, miscellaneous clothes and a whole lot of climbing and camping gear was everywhere.  I looked up at my second bunk area and a bunch of gear, was outside of gear bags.  I felt a clear sense of unease.  I can’t walk past it to another room, I had to confront the clutter right then.

“Get rid of clutter and you may just find it was blocking the door you’ve been looking for”  Katrina Mayer

This can literally happen in an RV 🙂  When living in a small space, there are some things to keep in mind when dealing with clutter.

  1. You need a place for everything, preferably where you don’t have to move something else to get to it.
  2. When you take something out of its place, put it back when you are done with it.  Don’t wait to do this, it doesn’t save you any effort to wait.
  3. When you can see most of your home in a glance, you have to keep it looking clutter free.  There are no other rooms to go in to, to avoid looking at it.
  4. Less clutter is less stress, both in the moment of looking around and when looking for something you need later.
  5. Cleaning and putting things away has an immediate reward of accomplishment.
  6. I can tell where everything in my home is, at any given time.  This wasn’t true in my sticks-and-bricks home.
  7. If you have a small home, you use most of it all the time.  You have to clean it regularly – but that does not take long at all.

I suppose this list contains the opportunities for may analogies in our lives.  They are easy to see, because there isn’t a lot of empty space around to hide them.

I wasn’t good at this in my sticks-and-bricks homes.  Then, things would get to a point where I had to put things away, or had to find things.  Sometimes I would not find things until I put other things away and I actually got used to it.  “It will turn up”, was something I was comfortable with.  I blamed it on how much time I had, and if you knew my schedule you would likely agree.  Full time (+) working adult, half time college student.  In a relationship (at the time), and many wonderful hobbies to occupy myself with.  What I have figured out is that I had not been taking the time to take care of me, or my home, like I should have.

I am finally doing so and it feels good.  I am not going to take a summer semester class and I am going to take that time to wind down a bit.  Not be so busy.  I am going to take advantage of my new mobility and go spend time in some of my favorite places.

Part of the issue of moving in to an RV and keeping the rest of my life traditional, has contributed to me not thinking outside the box as much, about what is possible.  Trapped in old patterns of thinking is keeping me from envisioning the possibilities of the freedom I now have.

“Wander a whole summer if you can…time will not be taken from the sum of your life. Instead of shortening, it will definitely lengthen it and make you truly immortal.”
― John Muir

 

Leave a Reply

