Keep your head about you…

I had a close call recently with how much space a portable home can take up.  When driving an RV, we have to be mindful of driving in three dimensions.  I regularly find myself checking my mirrors to make sure I am in the lines, but have learned that those mirrors are actually over the lines.  I met an ambulance recently, and we both had to go to the edge to avoid touching mirrors, for instance.

Unfortunately, we don’t have a mirror on the top of our roofs.  🙂  I have been looking for a car wash capable of 12 feet of clearance.  A local RV park told me about one they thought would work.  As I pulled in, a man started looking at me in disbelief and blocking the bay.  I eased forward, and he started shaking his head.  I nudged him with the bumper and pulled in.  Ok, not really, but he did shake his head more and point to my right.  I looked over and saw this.

head 1

This helped me see his point more clearly.  Someone else was not as fortunate as I and had gone right in.  Ironically, there were two places the roof is damaged here.

We should know the height of our rigs and what we need to be safe.  This should be measured with a measuring tape, from the roof.  Of course, be careful up there and don’t fall off.  The best way is to use some kind of fall harness protection.  I climb, so when I feel I need the safety, I put on a harness and use a rope which could likely hold a compact car off the ground.  But, I digress.

Later that day, I went to grocery shop and could not find a parking spot, because everyone parks in the store lot, for the activities near by.  So, I parked at a nearby bank.  To be slick and to not take up space, I pulled under a nearby awning at a bank.  Fortunately it was high enough, but just barely.

head 2(seen in the picture is one of my new roof vent covers – more on that later)

Thankfully, I went up top to look and was startled. My AC would not have cleared the I-beam.  That was a close call.

I’m sharing this close call with everyone, to help myself and each of you to be mindful of our surroundings.  I already watch out for low trees, which can scrape the Dicor off the roof and scratch the sides, while I drive.  Going forward, I will treat each roof as to low, until I check it by climbing up and measuring.

Still loving living in my new home.  Lots more to share, but wanted to get this “on paper” while I have a moment.

This close call reminds me of a poem by Rudyard Kipling, I would like to share here.

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;

If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;
If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same;

If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with wornout tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breathe a word about your loss;

If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: ‘Hold on!’

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with kings – nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much;

If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run –
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And – which is more – you’ll be a Man my son!

I hope you make the effort and take the time to follow your dreams.

Leave a Reply

